Follow us on

Shirley Tillett Scholarship Fund for Event Professionals

Shirley Tillett, founder of Shirley Tillett and Associates (STA), successfully operated her event planning and training company for over 20 years. She also founded the Event Professionals of Manitoba Association (EPM). 

Shirley was instrumental in raising the bar on professionalism in the Event Planning industry in Manitoba. She was a consummate professional, which was evident in every part of her life. Shirley has been teaching Event Planning at MTEC for close to 20 years. She has taught and mentored hundreds of people working in the field of event planning and those wanting to work in the field.
MTEC is honoured that Shirley has created this scholarship and will always be grateful for all the wonderful work she did here and in the community.
The scholarship fund will pay the full amount for the MTEC 3-Part Series for Event Coordinators & Planners.
Shirley’s family had requested that in lieu of flowers, donations be made to the Shirley Tillett Scholarship Fund for Event Professionals.

On behalf of Shirley’s family, we would like to thank all of those who contributed to the Shirley Tillett Scholarship Fund for Event Professionals.  (see list below)

There was great support for Shirley’s wish of starting a scholarship fund and as a result of the generous donations, many people wanting to increase their knowledge of Event Planning will be able to have their full tuition covered for the 3 Day Event Planning Series offered at MTEC. 



Strauss Event & Association Management, Joan Thornson, Karen Koster, Lynda Glena, Christine Walker, Allison Girordin, Catherine Long, Agnes Baryski, Kathleen Miklovich, The Buss Family, MTEC, Janine Quinn, Engineers Geoscientists, Grace Tuba, Lorna & Donna, Sheila Tuba, Shirley Gaura, Sophie Czajka, Mildred Nagy, Lynette Tuba, Linda Schram, Mary Cartlidge, XL Specialty Insurance Canada, Carolyn Rickey, Teshmont Consultants, Robert Shindelman (Shindico), Buff Highland, Geoff Mac Pherson, Gaylen Schuck, Jim Goodknight, Mark Sooter, Max Colett, Alex Avacupan, Greg Gaither, Reggie Yates, Randy Howard, Association of Consulting Engineering Companies-Manitoba, Bert Bivings, Charles Cichra, Louise Machinski and Niclola Starin, on behalf of Shirley Tillett.                                                                            

The Shirley Tillett Scholarship Fund for Event Professionals Scholarship Committee
c/o The Manitoba Tourism Education Council (MTEC)
3-75 Scurfield Boulevard
Winnipeg, Manitoba R3Y 1P6


.  .  .  .

Hope Switzer

Tyler George

Janna Martens

Michelle Liwanag

Danielle Podaima

Lisa Magnusson

Zane Inri Jacinto

Daniel Girard

Sheila Dale Grycki

Cameron Mackay

Nicole Maier

Barbara Plett

John Toews

Dana L. Cabildo

Patricia Thome

Victoria Chandara

Gong (Felix) Cheng

Janina Finlayson

Anneliese Schoppe

Katie Green

Anna Scheider

Mihaela Chiriac

Trisha Burch

Lynda Joy McKerchar

Louise Lizano

Duo Su

Sangeetha Balachandra

Kelly Kalynuk

Abigail Kawadza

Michelle Wazny

John Scott Browning

Ephraim John Zarzuela

Sandra Morton

Ainsley Gibbens

Korinn Thiessen

Katina Gagne

Anna Talalaeva

John Keith Simba

Michael Soncina

Angela Caron

Rosemarie Rolsky

Alyssa Dahl

Cheri Paizen

Patricia Lewis

Manon Ottenbreit

Kristel Tweetum Josol Acosta

Breanna Trudeau

Maria Alyssa Licsi

Meghan Hayward


Back to Industry News List